Skip to main content

Ulster Immunology Group

The Ulster Immunology Group (UIG) is a Regional Affiliate of the British Society for Immunology (BSI). Its objective is to provide a forum for scientists in Northern Ireland to foster common interests in the broad area of immunology. UIG is led by a small active committee that organises a monthly seminar series, periodic ad hoc symposia and annual student prizes honouring the best graduates in immunology from both Queen’s University Belfast and the University of Ulster.

The seminar series implicates local, national and international scientists invited to share their research with our members. Periodic ad hoc symposia are organised in collaboration with BSI depending on available funding. Symposium topics are selected on the basis of areas of interest to as wide a range of scientists as possible. The annual student prizes are presented to the best graduates with immunology components in their degrees. The UIG also maintains close relations with the Irish Society for Immunology, which involves collaborating on annual ISI symposia and research collaboration between our members. Individuals with interest in immunology are warmly welcome to join. Ideas for future activities are also welcome and should be forwarded to the UIG Secretary.


Committee

President
Dr Ultan F. Power PhD
028 90 972 285
 u.power@qub.ac.uk

Secretary
Dr Michael J. McMenamy PhD
028 90 525 864
michael.mcmenamy@afbini.gov.uk

Treasurer
Dr Adrien Kissenpfennig
a.kissenpfennig@qub.ac.uk

Website Officer
Dr Emeir McSorley
em.mcsorley@ulster.ac.uk

Committee members

Prof Louise Cosby
louise.cosby@afbini.gov.uk

Dr Bettina Schock
b.schock@qub.ac.uk

Dr Denise Fitzgerald
d.fitzgerald@qub.ac.uk

Dr Heping Xu
heping.xu@qub.ac.uk

Dr Rebecca Ingram
b.ingram@qub.ac.uk

Dr Yvonne Dombrowski
y.dombrowski@qub.ac.uk

Contact

Dr Michael McMenamy
Agri-Food & Biosciences Institute
028 90525864
Michael.McMenamy@afbini.gov.uk 

www.uig.org.uk


Monthly seminar series

Friday 8 December at 13:00
Virus, vaccine and virotherapy
Professor Biao He, University of Georgia, USA
Venue: Wellcome-Wolfson- Institute for Experimental Medicine, Lecture Hall, Basement

 

Become a member now

Click below to find out how to become a member.

Join the society

Immunology news

Our membership publication, published quarterly and distributed free to members both electronically and in traditional print.

Read more