Skip to main content

BSI committee election results 2020

Following our recent elections for upcoming vacancies on the BSI Board of Trustees and BSI Forum, we would like to offer our warm congratulations to the following successful candidates:


  • Professor Matthias Eberl (Cardiff University)​ - reelected as General Trustee, commencing January 2021


  • Dr Donald Palmer (University of London) - Education & Careers Secretary, commencing Summer 2020
  • Professor Mark Travis (University of Manchester) - Groups Secretary, commencing January 2021
BSI Board elected candidates 2020
Matthias Eberl, Donald Palmer, Mark Travis

FORUM - all posts commencing Summer 2020

  • Dr Louise Topping (University of Oxford) - Early Career Representative​
  • Dr Tomaz Garcez (Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust) - Clinical Representative
  • Dr Karim Dib (Queen's University Belfast) - Northern Ireland Representative
  • Niamh Richmond (University of Oxford) - PhD Representative
  • Lauren Campbell (Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust) - PhD Representative
BSI Forum elected candidates 2020
Louise Topping, Tomaz Garcez, Karim Dib, Niamh Richmond, Lauren Campbell

Find out more about the successful candidates and how they plan to represent your interests by reading their full statements in the members' area of our website (you will need to log in to access this webpage).

The turnout for these elections was over 21% of the BSI membership, with all except one of the posts contested by more than one candidate.  We would like to pass on our huge thanks to all the other BSI members who stood for election. 

Finally, we would like to announce new Congress Committee members recently appointed by Congress Secretary Dr Gary Entrican and BSI CEO Dr Doug Brown:

  • Dr Sandra Sacre (University of Sussex)
  • Professor Graham Cook (University of Leeds)
  • Dr Margarita Dominguez-Villar (Imperial College London)
  • Dr James Harker (Imperial College London)
BSI Congress Committee elected candidates 2020
Sandra Sacre, Graham Cook, Margarita Dominguez-Villar, James Harker

The British Society for Immunology is here to represent all immunologists working in science, healthcare, and industry. Our committees are vital in leading our work, making numerous decisions about how the Society is run, what activities we focus on, and what support we provide to members. We look forward to working with all our new committee members in the coming months to forward the Society’s mission to promote excellence in immunology research, scholarship and clinical practice to improve human and animal health.


Become a member today

Click below to find out how to become a member.

Join the Society