Skip to main content

BSI Honorary Members 2021

The British Society for Immunology awards Honorary Lifetime Membership in recognition of outstanding contribution to immunology and/or to the Society itself. This honour is awarded after rigorous discussion and approval by the Trustees. It is our pleasure to announce six new honorary members at the BSI Congress Opening Ceremony. 

Image credit: Thomas SG Farnetti, Wellcome

Professor Fiona Powrie

Fiona Powrie is the Director of the Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology and Principal Investigator in the Translational Gastroenterology Unit at the University of Oxford. She is well known for her seminal work on regulatory T cells and now works in the translational space examining how the interaction between the intestinal microbiota and the host immune system breaks down in inflammatory bowel disease. She has pioneered gut immunology research and has trained and inspired scores of new immunologists in the field.

Fiona has received numerous awards including the Ita Askonas Award from the European Federation of Immunological Societies for her contribution to immunology in Europe and the Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine 2012.  She is a Fellow of the Royal Society, EMBO, the Academy of Medical Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences and a Trustee of Wellcome. 

Professor Danny Altmann

Danny Altmann is Professor of Immunology at Imperial College London. His work primarily focuses on studies of adaptive immunity in human disease including severe bacterial infection and autoimmune disease, such as multiple sclerosis. He has also made an outstanding contribution to immunology through the BSI. He was the Editor in Chief of the BSI’s Immunology journal for 14 years with his leadership instrumental in taking the journal to an impact factor above 5, which had been a long-standing ambition of the BSI. 

Since finishing his term of office, he has remained engaged with the BSI and has stepped up during the pandemic supporting the BSI’s policy work in meetings with MPs and government advisors, being a very active member of the BSI Expert COVID-19 Taskforce and undertaking a huge amount of public engagement work including press, TV and radio interviews through high profile outlets. He has been seen as a trusted and engaging spokesperson on COVID-19 issues as well as, at the same time, carrying out his own research into the disease.

Professor Paul Moss

Paul Moss is Professor of Haematology and Deputy Head of College of Medical and Dental Sciences at the University of Birmingham. He has shown incredible leadership during the pandemic working across the immunology community to coordinate and synergise efforts for COVID immunology work. Working closely with the BSI, he led the development of the UK Coronavirus Immunology Consortium, securing £6.5m to establish and run the consortium for 12 months. Through this he has made a significant contribution to unifying British immunology during a crisis and created a culture where researchers feel comfortable sharing reagents, data and insights in a rapidly evolving field. 

At the same time he has been recognised as a chief spokesperson for immunology and emerging research working closely with the GCSA Sir Patrick Vallance and co-leading (with Doreen Cantrell) the immunology component of the Government’s National Core Studies initiative in COVID research. In addition to his outstanding career in immunology research and holding eminent positions such as Chair of the MRC Infection and Immunity Board, Paul has been a strong and trusted leader in the field during the pandemic and, through UK-CIC and NCS, has enabled the community to come together in a collaborative way never seen before.

Image credit: John Cairns

Professor Dame Sarah Gilbert

Professor Dame Sarah Gilbert is Saïd Professor of Vaccinology at the University of Oxford and co-founder of Vaccitech.

She specialises in the development of vaccines against influenza and emerging viral pathogens leading the development and testing of a universal flu vaccine. In 2014, she led the first trial of an Ebola vaccine, and has subsequently worked on vaccines against Crimean Congo hemorrhagic fever and MERS. She was the key scientist in the development of the adenoviral vectored technology at the Jenner Institute together with Adrian Hill over the years leading to the ChadOx1 platform.  On New Year's Day 2020, she read on ProMED-mail about four people in China suffering from a strange pneumonia of unknown cause, in Wuhan, China thus began an extraordinary effort from her and her team to design and test their COVID-19 vaccine. 

She received a Dame-hood in the Queen’s Birthday Honours in 2021 for services to science and public health, especially in the pandemic.

Image credit: John Cairns

Professor Teresa Lambe OBE

Professor Teresa Lambe is Associate Professor and a Principal Investigator working at Oxford University's Jenner Institute. 

Tess works on vaccines for emerging pathogens such as Ebola and Lassa fever and on 10 January 2020 she designed the vaccine for COVID-19 using the ChadOx1 platform.  She led the preclinical evaluation and continued to have a key role in the development and validation of detailed immunological assays for analysis in both vaccine volunteers and clinical patients. 

She received an OBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours in 2021 for services to science and public health, especially in the pandemic. She is taking part in this year’s Royal Institution Christmas Lectures. 


Image credit: John Cairns

Professor Sir Andrew Pollard

Professor Sir Andrew Pollard is Professor of Paediatric Infection and Immunology at Oxford University and an honorary consultant paediatrician at Oxford Children’s Hospital. Since 2001 he has directed the Oxford Vaccine and has many years’ experience of leading research on the design, development and clinical evaluation of vaccines in UK, Asia, Africa and Latin America.

Apart from when he recuses himself for conflicts, he chairs the UK Department of Health and Social Care’s Joint Committee on Vaccination and Immunisation and is a member of WHO’s Strategic Advisory Group of Experts.

He was the chief investigator for the clinical trials of the Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine in 2020 and he received a knighthood in the Queen’s Birthday Honours in 2021 for services to Public Health, especially in the pandemic.

The BSI also awarded a special Global Impact and Innovation Award to the Oxford Vaccine Group for their work to develop the Oxford/AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine. Read more here

You can find out more about all the current BSI Honorary Members in our 'About us' section. 


Become a member today

Click below to find out how to become a member.

Join the Society