Skip to main content

Congratulations to new Fellows

The Academy of Medical Sciences and the Royal Society has announced their lists of new Fellows for 2019. Congratulations to the following BSI members on being elected as Fellows in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the discipline.

Academy of Medical Sciences Fellows

Clare Lloyd, Professor of Respiratory Immunology and Wellcome Senior Fellow in Basic Biomedical Sciences at Imperial College London. Her work examines the molecular mechanisms that underlie common lung diseases, such as asthma or fibrotic lung diseases. She studies the interactions between lung cells and infiltrating inflammatory cells to work out how these interactions affect the development and progression of disease. She is also the Dean of Institutional Affairs at Imperial College London, covering all aspects of diversity and inclusion. 

Helen McShane,  Professor of Vaccinology and Deputy Departmental Head at University of Oxford. Her work looks at tuberculosis vaccinology, in particular studying the safety, immunogenicity and efficacy of candidate TB vaccines through clinical trials. She also studies whether providing a TB vaccine via the aerosol route is a more effective method of vaccination. She is also the Network Director of the VALIDATE Network, which brings together researchers developing vaccines against globally significant diseases caused by complex intracellular pathogens.

Alison Simmons, Professor of Gastroenterology at the MRC Human Immunology Unit, University of Oxford. She research focuses on defining innate immune pathways that underpin digestive diseases, such as inflammatory bowel diseases, Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis. Using molecular and computational approaches, she aims to develop novel therapeutic approaches to these conditions. 

You can find out more about the 2019 intake of Academy of Medical Sciences Fellows on their website

Royal Society Fellows

Charles Bangham, Chair of Immunology and Head of the Division of Infectious Diseases at Imperial College London. His work examines the virology and immunology of persistent virus infections, with particular focus on the human T-cell leukaemia virus (HTLV-1).  His contributions to the discipline include discovering the virological synapse - how viruses such HTLV-1 are transmitted between cells. He is a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences and was awarded the BMC Retrovirology Prize in 2007, the International Retrovirology Association Basic Science Prize in 2015, and the David Derse Memorial Award from the National Cancer Institute, USA, in 2018. 

Caetano Reis e Sousa, Assistant Research Director and Senior Group Leader, Francis Crick Institute.  His work involves studying the mechanisms used by the immune system to sense infection, cancer and tissue injury, with a particular focus on the role of dendritic cells. He has helped to define the cells and pathways involved in innate immune detection of RNA viruses, fungi and dead cells. He is a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences,  a member of EMBO in 2006, and an Officer of the Order of Sant’Iago da Espada by his native Portugal in 2009. In 2017, he received the Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine. He is also on the Editorial Board of the BSI journal, Immunology

You can find out more information about the 2019 intake of Royal Society Fellows on their website



Become a member today

Click below to find out how to become a member.

Join the Society